UNSC (United Nations Security Council)

According to the Charter, the Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security. It consists of 15 member states, with one vote given to each. Recognizable are the 5 permanent member states that are granted with a veto power. All of the other 10 member states are elected with two-year terms. Aligned to its task the Security Council meets whenever peace is threatened. It also has the unique power to make decisions that the member states are then obligated to implement.

Topic A: The Question of Kurdistan

Topic B: The Situation in Venezuela

Chair E-Mail: unsc@hammun.de


Alex Denny

Alex started taking part in MUN in Sixth Form, and has attended almost 30 conferences. He particularly enjoys chairing DISEC and Security Council, but has also chaired committees you probably didn’t know exist like International Atomic Energy. Having recently chaired DISEC at Oxford’s International MUN, Alex is excited to chair at Hamburg MUN. It will be his 3rd time as President of Security Council. Outside of MUN, Alex studies Archaeology at St Catharine’s College, Cambridge, where he spends an unhealthy amount of time clubbing.

Erik Buhmann

Erik is pursuing his master’s degree in physics at the University of Hamburg and has started his Model UN career 2013 in the North American Model UN circuit. After attending several General Assemblies, he specialized in chairing and in dynamic crisis scenarios. Erik helped to organize SSICsim 2014 in Toronto and is involved with HamMUN since 2015, where he has serve as Secretary-General last year. Apart from specializing in machine learning for particle physics, he is passionate about nuclear disarmament and is involved with the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN).